Woody Shaw: Rosewood (1978) - LP

  • Sale
  • Regular price

Order this LP copy of Woody Shaw's two time Grammy-nominated and most critically-acclaimed commercial album — Rosewood — now available at WOODYSHAW.COM.

Condition: Very Good to Near Mint

Rosewood was Woody Shaw's first album for Columbia Records. Recorded in 1977 and released in 1978, this album resulted in Woody receiving many accolades including nominations as Talent Deserving Wider Recognition in Down Beat's International Jazz Critics Poll (1977), as well as Jazz Album of the Year and Best Trumpeter in Down Beat's Readers Poll (1978). Rosewood also received two Grammy Award Nominations for Best Jazz Instrumental Performance (Soloist) and Best Jazz Instrumental Performance (Group) (1979).

The title-composition, Rosewood, was originally written for Woody's close musical friend and collaborator Bobby Hutcherson — dedicated specifically to the material (rosewood) from which Bobby's wooden marimba instrument was made. The tune was then later re-dedicated to Woody's parents, Rose and Woody Shaw, Sr. (i.e. Rose-wood) — who shared the same name as the tune. His 1978 debut album on Columbia Records was then dedicated to them as well.  

Album - Track Listing:

  1. "Rosewood" - 7:11
  2. "Everytime I See You" (Onaje Allan Gumbs) - 7:14
  3. "The Legend of the Cheops" (Victor Lewis) - 6:03
  4. "Rahsaan's Run" - 5:10
  5. "Sunshowers" (Clint Houston) - 7:48
  6. "Theme for Maxine" - 7:15

Album Personnel: